top of page

The Sometimes Charms of Social Media Can Lead to Generous, Long-Lost Friends

A few days ago I posted a couple of Facebook missives. One appeared on my personal page and another on a "group" page called, "Cycling Past 50." The cycling crowd is comprised of people over the age of 50 who ride bicycles like they're still in their twenties and thirties. The group adds credence to the saying, "50 is the new 30." Or even better, "70 is the new 50."

Both posts bragged about my coast-to-coast bicycle ride and Warriors Heart. Each gave me a chance to ask people to donate to WH.

And they have.

Much to my amazement over $1,000 has poured into WH from generous souls across the country donating to the bike ride, thanks to my little Facebook ditties. Within a couple of days, I'd received nearly 400 "Likes" and close to 100 comments, most favorable and encouraging.

Two donations stand out and came from high school friends, both of whom I thought I'd never hear from again until Facebook entered our lives. One is my dear friend Marcia Phillips Funk. Marcia and I were co-editors of our high school yearbook and have seen each other just once through the many years since. But the power of social media reconnected us a few years ago and I've immensely enjoyed online chats from time-to-time with my long-lost co-editor who is no longer long-lost.

The other is Ed Johnson, a high school football teammate who once accidently kicked me in the shins so hard, I was nearly crippled. But Ed remains the wonderfully bright personality I remember so well from over 50 years ago. Thanks to our Facebook link, Ed and I were lucky enough to have lunch in Gig Harbor, WA last summer, along with yet another old high school buddy, Sancho Panza (aka John Thornley).

The Russians may have wounded and politically scammed us all with their Facebook savvy but there is still something enticing about the aura of social media.

So while Facebook's charms have led to my high school yearbook co-editor and to my tough, former football teammate, it's the wonderful generosity of these two that is so striking. Thank you Marcie and Ed for your heartfelt thoughts and donations. I'll do my best to hold the Orange Glen High School and Warriors Heart flag high while I peddle a bike across the country.


Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page