top of page

Intermittent Spurts

The planning and scheduling of a 3,000 mile, eight week bicycle trip may be more taxing than the actual ride. I first began laying out certain goals in June of 2016 -- over a year ago. By the time I reach St. Augustine, Florida in July 2018, it will be a two year effort of connecting dots.

In truth, I work in intermittent spurts. Some days hours will be spent mulling over trip specifics; most days just a few minutes here and there. But I suspect the closer May 1 moves into focus, the more hectic planning will become.

Right now the impetus is on completing the itinerary and making sure all dates, campgrounds, motels, etc., are scheduled accordingly. That, along with attempting to stay in reasonable physical shape by riding my bike every other day for 20 to 25 miles.

By the way, 20 to 25 miles in the summer in hilly terrain in central Arizona with temps above 100 degrees, is an accomplishment unto itself. But that's for another blog.

As I said, I work in intermittent spurts.


Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page